Teaching Scripture Memory

The Bible tells us to meditate on His word day and night (Ps 1). That’s easier to do when His word is committed to memory. I want my kids to get Bible verses stuck in their heads the way that everyone gets Frozen’s “Let it Go” stuck in theirs.

Call me paranoid, but I harbor the thought that within my children’s lifetime they might be denied access to a Bible or that openly owning or carrying a Bible might become illegal. I think of Betsy and Corrie Ten Boom in The Hiding Place having only their tiny book of Matthew with which to minister to all those women in the concentration camp. I decided at the very beginning of my parenting career that I want my kids to have as much scripture memorized as possible.

The other day one of my sons was confronted by a friend asking if the Bible says anywhere that Jesus is as much God as the Father is. Without missing a beat my son replied, “Colossians 2:9, For in Christ all the fullness of the deity lives in bodily form.”

Over the years we have memorized hundreds of verses, full chapters of the Bible, and many Psalms. Here’s how we do it:

In teaching my kids scripture, I borrowed the system I use during my personal prayer time. I got a 4 x 6 index card box and placed just one divider in the middle. Whenever I find a verse I want my kids to learn, I write it on a card and put it in the back of the box. Once a verse is memorized I move it to the front. I write the scripture reference on the top left corner of each card and the date we began it on the top right corner. I think it’s neat to look back and realize we’ve known a verse for a year… or a decade.

One September a local printing store had free laminating for educators. I got all of our scripture cards laminated. They are so durable that I’ve paid to have our more recent verses done as well.

We have tried many methods over the years to memorize scripture. Here is what works the best:

  • For short verses: I read the verse, and have the kids repeat it in unison. We do this several times. Next, I have each kid say it alone, beginning with the child with the quickest memory. Then we all say it together. The following day anyone who remembers it gets a small treat. To be sure it’s well learned, we say it each day for a week before moving it to the front of the index card box.
  • For long verses: I read the whole selection every morning for a few days. Before long they just start speaking along. Other times I read it every day, and then we memorize just one verse within it each day.
  • For Psalms: We sometimes make is responsorial. I have the kids repeat the first verse as I read each subsequent verse. This is a really beautiful way to worship, and by the end of the psalm we all have that first verse memorized. Other times I read a verse, they read the next, I read the third, and so on. Then we switch the next day.
  • We often do a lot of these things in the car. We own a Bible CD set. So, if we are working on a long selection or a psalm we’ll listen to it a few times every time we’re in the car. Our CDs are dramatized, so the kids often begin to say the verses with the same inflection as the actors, which is entertaining, if nothing else.

Any system needs occasional refreshing and new ideas. Here are some of the extra things we’ve done:

  • “Bible Scratchout:” This is a very simple game that my kids love. I write the verse on the white board or a piece of paper. The first person reads the whole verse than scratches out (or erases) a word of their choice. The next person reads the verse, supplies the missing word, and crosses out another word. Each turn involves having the verse memorized just a little more, until the final player has to recite the entire verse. They get a prize if they do. Then anyone else who can say it without help gets a prize. Walla! The verse is memorized.
  • I picked up some giant notebook paper at a used curriculum sale for a dollar. I write out a verse or psalm in large print and hang it in an obvious spot, like the wall opposite the toilet. It turns out this is a good conversation starter: guests in our home come out of the loo asking about the verse.
  • When we worked on Deuteronomy chapter six we talked about writing God’s word on the doorframes of our house, as verse nine says. I printed out the verse selection and gave each kid five copies to tape up around the house. There were some funny locations, like the attic, and we lost some wall paint where we left the tape up too long, but we learned those verses.
  • When I was directing a Christmas play for a church group I wrote the narrator’s lines directly from the first two chapters of Luke. Then I cast one of my sons in the role (Don’t worry, he was the most qualified.) As he learned his lines, we all memorized a good deal of those chapters.

It’s easy to memorize things, but more difficult to retain them. We have several ways tokeep verses fresh in our minds by. First of all, we recite two Psalms each day as part of our morning Bible time. We rotate through the ones we’ve learned so that none get too repetitive. For example: We pray Psalm 1 and 4 one day, 16 and 19 the next, 23 and 46, the third, etc…

We also review different shorter verses each day. I pull five verses from the front of the box. I have the kids take turns saying them. Then I put them behind the other verses they know, right in front of the divider, so that the next day’s verses will be different.

We want to our kids see the application of the verses they have memorized in their daily lives. So I say a verse whenever it strikes me as relevant. For example: In watching a sunset or an eclipse I might say, “The heavens declare the glory of God. The skies proclaim the work of his hands.” (Ps 19:1) My children do this now, too. If one of the little ones is having trouble sleeping, I might hear an older brother telling her, “I will lie down and sleep in peace for you alone, oh Lord, make me dwell in safety.” (Ps 4:8) If the older brother is getting frustrated I might hear, “When you are in your beds search your hearts and be silent!”(Ps 4:4b) instead.

An added benefit of all this scripture memory is that by the time the kids have a verse memorized, so do I. If I want to memorize a verse, I have the kids learn it. I’ll know it by the end.

As a believing mom, I love that moment when I hear a toddler, who can barely put a sentence together, mumbling bits of verses because all of our scripture memory has gotten stuck in his head. Mission accomplished.